Connected health & the broadband dilemma

I’ve just returned from buying a new phone – better clarity of sound for all those hours I spend on teleconferences for work. And yes it’s a phone for my land-line. OK the commentator on BBC Radio 4 programme yesterday was telling me that “landlines are not essential” but when you live in the middle of the beautiful, but isolated Yorkshire Dales National Park, then I would beg to differ as the only way I get a mobile signal is via a device that boosts a 3G signal from my broadband. And don’t get me started on the subject of rural broadband! Our current connectivity is pretty dire at times but there  better times lie ahead connectivity wise as we are part of a community initiative FibreGarDen whose aim is to bring super fast broadband to ours and the adjoining dale.

So why is the subject of connectivity important to me – both as a health professional as well as a resident in a rural community?

A few years ago I co-authored a paper called The future of connected health devices. The essence of the point-of-view was that with pressure on the NHS (and other healthcare systems around the globe) how can you encourage individuals to better manage their health.  The technology is available to enable connected personal healthcare systems – mobile and home devices that monitor your body and collect data on your vital signs at a location that is convenient to you.  But to be able to share that data remotely with your healthcare professionals  and even have remote consultations with your GP then fast (or ideally super fast) broadband is a prerequisite.

In the weeks ahead, I plan to share more thoughts on connected health, telemedicine and digital health in this blog and hopefully on our progress to broadband nirvana!

One thought on “Connected health & the broadband dilemma

  1. […] this week I wrote a blog about telehealth and the need for fast broadband connection in rural areas such as my beloved Yorkshire Dales to […]

    Like

Leave a comment